My Own Worst Enemy

Jeremiah 1:5-10

“5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,and before you were born I consecrated you;I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”
6Then I said, “Ah, Lord GOD! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.” 7But the LORD said to me,
“Do not say, ‘I am only a youth’;for to all to whom I send you, you shall go,and whatever I command you, you shall speak. 8 Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver you,
declares the LORD.”
9 Then the LORD put out his hand and touched my mouth. And the LORD said to me,
“Behold, I have put my words in your mouth. 10See, I have set you this day over nations and over kingdoms, to pluck up and to break down,to destroy and to overthrow,to build and to plant.”

Have you ever noticed that more than half of the time we are faced with a difficult decision, commitment, or an opportunity to turn our lives into a new direction, the first person to tell us we can’t do it, is ourselves. The first person to tell us we’ve made to many mistakes, we don’t have the experience needed to handle the responsibilities of a certain position, is ourselves. I want to turn my life away from the dangerous path I’m headed down, I want to do something better for my kids, I want to be the leader that God has created me to be. Yet there’s that voice in our head that is fighting against us 24/7.

You see the devil was cast out of heaven because he was envious of Our Father. He was not adequate to reside in heaven, so he decides he’ll spend eternity on earth waiting for every opportunity that is available to make us feel inadequate.

Jeremiah was faced with this same problem, God is telling him it’s time for you to do your Father’s work, yet a voice in Jeremiah’s head is telling him he’s only a child, he can’t handle the responsibility that lies ahead of him. However the Lord says hold on just one second, I have created you for a purpose and this purpose will take place whether you think you are ready for it or not.

We are all our own worst enemy because the devil has no problem attacking the mind. This is why it is important for us to read our Word so that we can hold on to the promises the Lord has made to us. The promise to adopt us into His holy kingdom should we love Him with all of our heart. God has created you with a purpose, seek the Lord so that this may be known to you and the battle within will calm! God bless.

Leave a Reply

