Got Swag?

Psalm 27:1-3 (NIV)

“1 The LORD is my light and my salvation—
   whom shall I fear?
The LORD is the stronghold of my life—
   of whom shall I be afraid?

 2 When the wicked advance against me
   to devour me,
it is my enemies and my foes
   who will stumble and fall.
3 Though an army besiege me,
   my heart will not fear;
though war break out against me,
   even then I will be confident.”

        Confidence is defined as; full-trust, confidence and assurance.  I define confidence as being able to walk with your head held high, chest out, without fear.  The slang term used for confidence is SWAG or swagger.  In sports there are many teams that have extreme amounts of confidence.  These teams are usually the best, or one of the best, in their sport.  These teams recognize that in order to be an elite team, they must hold themselves to an elite level.  These teams always remain confident, even when faced with bad stretches where they may have lost five games in a row or are on the brink of elimination, these teams never doubt themselves.  The players understand the organization they are representing and although situations may seem daunting they know they have the ability to overcome all obstacles.  They must maintain their swag to instill fear in the opposition.

        Now you may be thinking, “What in the world does this have to do with Christ?”  I’m here to tell you it has everything to do with Christ!  You see because as children of the Most High God we were created to live with Jesus Swag.  Not to be ashamed of our creator and our savior, but to be able to walk in confidence, without fear, knowing that the Lord hold us in the palm of His hand.  As Christians we must be confident that the Lord will not forsake us, we must walk boldly in His name, giving Him credit for everything we have been blessed with.  Standing up for our obedience in His name.

        When we remain confident in the Lord, He keeps the enemy at bay, out of striking distance.  Like the intimidation factor that sets into other teams morale as soon as the Yankees take the field.  When we represent Jesus, the devil will only come so close, because He FEARS the Lord.  When we remain confident in the Lord, we know that even if the series is 3-1 and we feel like we are on the brink of destruction, at any moment the Lord can stretch forth His hand change the tides, in our favor.  For this reason David says, even when my enemies surround me, going for the kill, I will remain Confident!

        This confidence is not a confidence that should only be shown in times of uncertainty, because what kind of confidence only shows up when destruction is on the horizon?  Paul tells us in Romans 1:16, “I am unashamed of the Gospel.”  We must also be unashamed of the Gospel, when others ask why we can’t go to the bar to watch the game, why we don’t have sex with our significant others out of wedlock, why we refrain from perverse conversations, our answer should be “Because I’m a child of the Most High and everywhere I go, I go with Jesus Swag!”  Walk with your head held high! God Bless.

2 thoughts on “Got Swag?

Leave a Reply

