Why Must They Despise Me?

Psalm 35:11-14 (ESV)

“11 Malicious witnesses rise up;
they ask me of things that I do not know.
12 They repay me evil for good;
my soul is bereft.
13But I, when they were sick—
I wore sackcloth;
I afflicted myself with fasting;
I prayed with head bowed on my chest.
14I went about as though I grieved for my friend or my brother;
as one who laments his mother,
I bowed down in mourning.”

We all know how it feels when a loved one is in need. Whether they are sick from a horrible disease or desperately financial support, to name a couple examples. When these situations arise we pray and fast with our whole heart, desperately seeking the Lord to move His hand and turn the situation around. These loved one we agree in prayer with are also people who have teased us or wronged us in some way or another, however we still find it in our heart to intercede in prayer for these people.

However, when someone else wrongs us or talks badly about us we somehow forget that we are children of the Most High God. We forget that the Lord loved us even when we resented everything every word of His. He loved us even when we sentenced His Son to death. We arose against Him and beat His Son to a bloody pulp! He still stands by our side to aid us in our daily lives. So why do we seem to feel that the people who arise against us should be sentenced to death and deserve none of our compassion and mercy.

Would you like to see an example of what our compassion should look like when our “enemies” persecute us? Perhaps you should re-read the passage above, King David, a man after God’s Own Heart, gives a very detailed description of the way he prayed for his enemies. Lamenting, or weeping, as if it were his own brother, sister or loved one. Laying himself down in sackcloth, which was a form of atoning for one’s sin and fasting until his body was greatly ailed.

In order to love as God loves us we must look past our family and friends, even the family and friends that pretend to not be related to us, or the family and friends that only run to you in times of need. We must look to those who greatly despise us, wish for nothing but evil to come upon us and our families and WE MUST PRAY for them. In order to fully experience the wholeness of God’s love we must love others as He has loved us! God Bless.

Leave a Reply

